Faithful Companion

faithful-companion-copy

My most faithful companion

Is following me

Sunrays in the sky needed

 

I am your most faithful companion on sunny days,

I come into existence as soon as you are born and

The first sunrays pop in through the window bathing you.

Try not to disengage me on such days as I follow all

The movements of your body when you walk, talk, sit

Listen to your favorite hit

Your clothes fit or don’t fit

That’s it.

 

But when the sky darkens I disappear.

The eye of a storm kills me with its thorn,

Even the slightest clouds treat me with merciless scorn.

 

I pray to stay

And yell so well

I am the dum(b)bell

Of the body I dwell

 

Once the good weather is restored I am reborn

To follow you through life’s pleasures and pains.

You’ll carry me until your death

And I will listen to your breath

To your soul, to your heart pulsation.

I am your most faithful companion

But only on sunny days.

 

Click here to listen to the poem

 

© December 2016 Marta Pombo Sallés

15 thoughts on “Faithful Companion

  1. You are welcome, Dan. Thank you for taking the time to read this poem. I am glad you liked it. Actually my idea was to write a kind of a riddle, where the faithful companion, but only on sunny days, is meant to be the shadow, anybody’s shadow. A few friends of mine came up with other interpretations that I find equally valid. One person said it was the joy, an innate human quality. Once dark clouds appear it fades but it comes back again in our lives. Another person saw the Biblical sign of the Sun, a fatherly figure, which is also connected to this idea. A Jungian psychologist friend said it is the animus or the anima of the human being, the unconscious mind, which is indeed our shadow.

    Like

  2. Wonderful to hear this as well as read it. The rhythm has a flavor of Sylvia Plath–the lines

    The eye of a storm kills me with its thorn,

    Even the slightest clouds treat me with merciless scorn.

    remind me, though the content is entirely different, of these lines in her “Lady Lazarus:”

    I turn and burn.
    Do not think I underestimate your great concern.

    Listening, I was rewarded with your voice of confidence and conviction. You add another dimension to your words when you read them.

    Thank you so much for connecting, and the thrill of discovering you and your poetry! This is a special day indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, I am so flattered by your appreciations, Gary. You made my day! I really love Sylvia Plath’s poems and enjoyed reading Ariel. I cannot remember if I read “Lady Lazarus” before or after I wrote this poem. I never thought I would be able to do this in English, my third language. Again, thank you so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this poem. I loved the fact that you begin the poem with an optimistic and positive note, continue with the consequences of the sunrays absence, and then conclude again with the return of the sun… It’s almost like an analogy, a reminder that the darkness comes and goes, and sun always comes to take it’s place. Great work, once again 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Merci beaucoup, Bernard. Je suis contente que vous avez lu beaucoup de mes écrits. Bonne soirée et bisous amicale pour vous aussi. (I hope my written French is clear enough to you and is not so full of mistakes)

      Like

Leave a comment